Cyr a Finalist for Tammy Baldwin Leadership Award

From the Office of Cape & Islands State Senator, Julian Cyr:

Senator Julian Cyr is one of five legislators nationwide named as a finalist for the ‘2018 Tammy Baldwin Breakthrough Leadership Award’ by the Victory Institute, out of 100 original nominees. The winner will be chosen at the annual Victory Institute Conference which will be held December 5th – 8th in Washington, D.C.

“I am honored to be among an all-star roster of hardworking LGBTQ legislators nominated for the Baldwin Breakthrough Award,” said Senator Julian Cyr (D-Truro). “Senator Tammy Baldwin is a personal hero of mine; it’s humbling to be recognized nationally for the work we are doing to look out for some of the most vulnerable residents of the Commonwealth.”

Senator Cyr has long been a champion of LGBTQ policy and civil rights. As senator, Cyr filed amendments to omnibus criminal justice legislation that were adopted by the Senate and passed into law in 2017 to protect the health and safety of LGBTQ prisoners. Specifically, the law requires that transgender prisoners are housed and treated in a manner consistent with their gender identity, unless it would pose a safety risk to the prisoner or other prisoners. Another provision filed by Cyr creates a commission to evaluate current access to appropriate healthcare services and health outcomes for LGBTQ prisoners. Prior to joining the Senate, Cyr was a member of the Massachusetts Commission on LGBTQ Youth, including a highly successful tenure as chair. Under Cyr’s leadership, the Commission worked with the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to issue first-in-the-nation guidance to support transgender students in public schools.

“The recent midterm elections showed a promising nationwide trend of voters demonstrating support for diverse candidates who represent a wide array of constituencies and backgrounds, including LGBTQ candidates like me,” said Senator Julian Cyr (D-Truro). “I will continue to doggedly advance issues affecting LGBTQ people in Massachusetts, and will stand up for all residents of Cape Cod, Martha’s Vineyard, and Nantucket.”

The Victory Institute is the only national organization dedicated to elevating openly LGBTQ leaders who can bring further equality to all levels of government. Through their training and professional development programs, each year Victory Institute assists hundreds of individuals who go on to influential careers in politics, government, business and advocacy. Many of our trainees join the more than 1,000 openly LGBTQ elected and appointed officials now serving around the world.

More about the organization and the Baldwin Breakthrough Leadership Award can be found online at

Tammy Baldwin is the junior U.S. Senator from Wisconsin, first elected to that position in 2012. Baldwin made history as Wisconsin’s first woman to serve in the U.S. Senate and the first openly gay member elected to the Senate. She previously served in the U.S. House, first winning election in 1998 to represent Wisconsin’s 2nd Congressional District; shattering the state’s glass ceiling by her election as the state’s first female member of Congress and the nation’s first openly gay challenger sent to Congress. She served seven terms in the House of Representatives.

The other finalists for the 2018 Baldwin Award include:

  • California State Assemblymember Evan Low
  • California State Assemblymember Todd Gloria
  • Colorado State Rep. Leslie Herod
  • Virginia Delegate Danica Roem


Content Goes Here