$2.3M in Federal Funding For Bourne Wastewater Treatment Plant

Congressman Keating news release:

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Bill Keating announced that the Town of Bourne has been awarded an Economic Development Administration (EDA) grant in the amount of $2,335,850. This funding will be used for the construction of a new wastewater treatment plant. It is anticipated that the project will save over 180 jobs and create an additional 30.

Said Congressman Keating:

“This grant shows how Economic Development Grant funding can unlock the potential of our communities to expand their business base, providing jobs and opportunities for our residents while simultaneously laying the groundwork for future growth. The $2.3 million provided by the EDA represents significant federal investment in my hometown. Bourne’s successful application for these funds will yield more than $18 million in private investment, in addition to saving and creating more than 200 jobs. Finding new, advanced ways to invest in wastewater infrastructure will prove critical to our region’s future. Bourne has done a great job in pursuing this federal EDA funding. I look forward to working with our state, local, and federal partners as we continue to expand economic opportunity, and housing security, for those who wish to invest and live here.”

Said Bourne Town Administrator Thomas Guerino:

“This is great news from the EDA. The $2.3 million dollar investment in this new wastewater facility will allow the Town of Bourne to continue the economic recovery of Main Street. A new hotel, restaurants, office space and residential housing units are under construction along Main Street, many of which would not be possible without this economic development grant. Not only will Main Street be enhanced, but this drives toward the Selectmen’s goals of town wide economic development activity. A number of people are to be thanked and commended for the hard work in bringing the project funding forward. I would like to thank all our partners including Congressmen Keating, the Board of Selectmen, the Sewer Commissioners, the Cape Cod Commission, specifically Leslie Richardson, Mary Jane Mastrangelo, the Waste Water Committee, and Wes Ewell, all of whom, without their assistance, this project would not be possible. Also, thanks to Debra Beavin at the EDA for her guidance and assistance through the entire process.”

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

Newsradio 95 WXTK · Cape Cod's #1 source for News, Weather, & Traffic
Listen Now on iHeartRadio